Replace your have with a want.

by Emma

Classic cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT). To change our behaviour, we must change our cognitions. This will create an alternate emotion and this reinforces our behavioural response. I love the concept of word replacement as it removes the previous association which we put upon the situation. It can completely change our mindset, thus creating a different and fresher perspective 🙂

2HelpfulGuys

I have to write this article.

Don’t get me wrong, I love writing, but I have deadlines and sometimes I’m caught in a rush.

I completely forgot that I had to write an article for Friday instead of Sunday from now on.

So I add it to my ‘have to do’ list.

But that list can be scary.

I have to do my Spanish lesson, I have to meditate, I have to come up with my ten ideas today, I have to write a 2HelpfulGuys video, I have to go to the gym, I have to, I have to, I have to…

When I get into this mode of thinking it’s no wonder I become stressed.

I enjoy doing all of these things. They are the kind of activities I want to be doing for the rest of my life.

So why do I feel this immense pressure when I think…

View original post 425 more words

