Letter to my 16 year old self

by Emma

If you could advise your previous and developing self, what would you say? What would be the important things you would write?

This concept has been used for years in psychology. It is a way to reincarnate deep rooted fears, anxieties and unhealthy cognitions. It is a way to soothe our psyche and also to self realise our own growth and individual behaviours.

But taking the psychological reasonings aside, what advise would you offer, and do you honestly think this advice would be useful?

At 16, I was not self-aware. I was not self-realised. My actions were based on childhood fantasy, undiluted aspiration and undamaged dreams. I saw the world through rose tinted glasses. My vision was based primarily on myself and the external world was simply a stage.

I embraced my role.

As I travelled and grew, I made many mistakes. Suffered heartbreak, caused pain and havoc and my spirit was challenged.

Would my words of experience have changed this young and developing woman? Would it have reduced the anxiety. Would it have ultimately changed my path?

Would this have been healthy?

If life is really a developing journey and the path we walk meaningful, then surely the trials and tribulations of our youth are indeed a part of this. To create our adult self, we need to experience the maze of emotions and bathe in uncertainty.

I believe wholeheartedly that the cliché ‘it is all character building’ is very relevant. To create, to grow, first we need to build and sometimes fail.

At 16 years old, we are not meant to carry the knowledge. At 18 we are still learning. At 20, we still need to grow.

I am 33 years young and it’s still complex. I am still learning, failing, yet creating. Life is about embracing and letting go. This is how we begin to self-realise.

It’s simply part of our individual journey.

The mind of a deep thinker…or complete rubbish…it is all down to interpretation and perception…

