What makes a writer able to write?

by Emma

Writing is something I have always done naturally. It is as automatic as breathing. I have never considered myself a ‘writer’, I have always framed it as a past time I simply enjoy.

I think it, I feel it, and then I write it. I do not consider my words as extroadinary or special, they are simply my perceived notion. I am sure most ‘writers’ would relate. So when does writing become a label? When do we begin to question our abilities and forget the emotion? Is a writer only a writer when he or she becomes a published name? How does this concept then affect our words?

It brings further clarity to the idea of resistance. I, personally, have never struggled with this. I write from my soul and interpret my own thoughts into my words, I have never struggled with inner debate. Does this mean I am not a ‘writer’? Does it simply mean that to remove the expectation, also removes the anxiety?

I choose to write, although I can argue that writing actually chooses me. I am quite able and capable to verbalise my thoughts, but in recording them, I am truly able to convey purer meaning. It excites and stimulates me. It offers a deeper self exploration, that simple talking does not.

An artist paints a picture. They develop a visual image through amazing talent and imagination. It is pure creativity and perception is individual. Somebody who chooses to write develops a narrative which motivates the mind to visualise its own art form. The picture I develop may be seen in many alternate colours and spectrums. The shape and context is multidimensional and belongs solely to the reader. However I am not an artist. I cannot own something which is simply down to my own need and my own philosophy. My significant other would argue that the drawings and paintings he creates are simply down to his own creative imagination. I disagree. As an artist, he also holds an amazing talent which cannot be reproduced. It cannot be learnt. As a writer, I believe the ‘talent’ remains with the intuition of our emotive stance. To write, we need to learn to feel. To feel, we need to become self-realised. I am not afraid of my feelings, hence, I do not fear my written word. The challenge we face is our own expectation and perfected views.

Writing is, and will always remain, a fragmented concept. To judge the ability of a writer upon a published script is ludicrous. Not every good writer publishes, and not every published writer is good.

I do not like labels. I consider myself as an individual who becomes stimulated by the written word. I don’t own my writing, my writing will always own me.

The mind of a deep thinker…or complete rubbish…it is all down to interpretation and perception…

