Weekly musings and life’s lessons

by Emma

This week I learnt a few things about myself.

☆The first thing I learnt was about my personal limitations and dignity.

I work in a busy office, predominantly surrounded by females. As we all know, lots of women make a dynamite mix. A recipe of bitchy and competitive disaster. I am aware of the constant slandering of everybody. I choose not to involve myself. I choose to remain away from the poison. Unsurprisingly, I found myself involved anyhow. The usual situation, another colleague informs me slyly, ‘**** has been chatting about you’. I say this tongue in cheek, as I am not naive to not realise the double dose of bitchiness there. I sigh twice and shake my head, to symbolise the amusing irony of the situation. The fact is, I am pretty thick skinned. Secondly, I am under no false notion that everybody would like me. We are simply diverse for a reason. I may be one persons favourite palate. I may be another’s definitive helping of unwanted sprouts. Frankly, I remain nonplussed by this. Though I am also a woman, and I will never be a victim. So I addressed this within a work meeting, with an audience. Safe to say, I had the last laugh.

☆The second thing I learnt was that I am, in fact, not invinsible.

I haven’t felt well for a while. I suffer from pernicious anaemia and am undergoing further investigations for other symptoms. Unfortunately this means I have to endure stinging injections and blood tests. This week, I have particularly felt weak and tired. This week I have realised that I am not as self sufficient as I make out to be. When we feel ill, we do actually need the comfort and company of others. I spend my life relying upon myself. I’m in a caring role in my career, and as a single mum, it’s all down to me. I guess it’s time to admit that I cannot remain on form at all times. We all need something and someone.

☆The third thing I have realised is that some people will remain on the wrong path, regardless of positive intervention.

I love the medical joke;

How many psychologists does it take to change a light bulb?

It depends on when the light bulb is ready to change!

This fits everybody. Sometimes we simply need to accept that we do not have control over everything. Sometimes the only control we possess is to let it go, Sit back, and do nothing. Sometimes we simply have to hand back the reigns and let others deal with the consequences. It’s life. Never ending lesson.

The mind of a deep thinker…or complete rubbish…it is all down to interpretation and perception…

