Murder by Power point

by Emma

As I watch the screen, I cannot help having my attention diverted by the lonely fly attempting an escape at the closed window. I feel empathy. I understand it’s frustration. I am honestly trying to concentrate. I blink repetitively to refocus my mind.

It is not working.

I can almost hear it’s crystallised wings battling against the dampness of the room. I can hear it’s thoughts ‘Let me out’.

I zone out. I actually zone further out of the zone I had found myself in. Every body’s face reflects my pain. The trainer drones on. I don’t think he realises that his voice is creating a sleepy lullaby, lulling me off.

The words appear to melt into each other. Their meanings becoming illegible. I cannot get my mojo back. It has gone. Flapping at the window, becoming the shadow of the fly.

I sigh and let my mind wander.

I am incapable of concentration today.

The mind of a deep thinker…or complete rubbish…it is all down to interpretation and perception…